bizarroMUSIC: Nibs Van Der Spuy

Thursday, August 1st, 2013

Nibs Van Der Spuy - Crossing Borders Driving North 001

“…I’d been a fan of Nibs since his early days as part of folk group Landscape Prayers.

Their Bush Telegraph album was one of the few acoustic albums I really enjoyed. It had a spooky, anonymous and ancient quality to it, a sound of spacey, twinkling guitars and hail-on-a-zinc-roof percussion overlaid with some really funky and hypnotic tangents, it felt like some sort of artifact recovered from deep within the earth from the thousand hills of KwaZulu Natal.

It was my soundtrack to Sunday afternoons with mugs of cheap wine, looking over blocks of urban decay and wondering, hoping and finally realising, thanks to Bush Telegraph, there still had to be some beauty left in the world.

It’s any wonder I didn’t throw away my shoes right then and there and run away to the country with my own badly-tuned, three-stringed Ibanez classical strapped to my back. Thanks for that, Nibs. I may get there yet…” CLICK HERE TO CONTINUE

Leave some love, or not?!

Numero Group: By The Numbers

Just another WordPress.com weblog

BizarroCon 2017

November 16-19, 2017

Mik Mob's Music Mass

share YOUR favourite tunes with The Mob

Icy Sedgwick

Fiction & folklore!

ideas.ted.com

Explore ideas worth spreading

UPROXX

The Culture Of Now

Fiction Flood

Perpetual fiction by E.M. Vireo

forestpunk

A Journal Of The Dark Arts

Tzaneen Life

An antidote to the rat-race

van der Rant

by Matthew van der Want

PPE-o-Matic

Distance education can be a lonely affair. Here, I aim to share my own thoughts, ideas, and essays and those of more brilliant minds than my own for inspiration to fellow Philosophy, Politics and Economics students.

wherebadmovieslive.wordpress.com/

Movie Reviews of Bad Movies

Kate Ferreira

Writer, editor, communications consultant

Grethe Koen

I write for a living, and a life